## **Research Infrastructure Review Panel**

Mr Philip Marcus Clark AM (Chairman)

Mr Clark is a member of the J P Morgan Advisory Council and was formerly Chair of the Education Investment Fund Advisory Board. He was previously Managing Partner and CEO of Minter Ellison. Prior to joining Minter Ellison, Mr Clark was Director and Head of Corporate with ABN Amro Australia, and Managing Partner of Mallesons Stephen Jaques for 16 years. Earlier in his career he worked with a Pratt Industries subsidiary and with Shell Australia. Mr Clark now serves on a number of private and university boards and advisory boards.

Professor Ian Chubb AC, Chief Scientist for Australia

Professor Chubb has served as Australia's Chief Scientist since May 2011, following an academic career including as Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University from 2001 to 2011, and Vice-Chancellor of Flinders University from 1995 to 2000. Professor Chubb was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia for "service to higher education including research and development policy in the pursuit of advancing the national interest socially, economically, culturally and environmentally and to the facilitation of a knowledge-based global economy".

Dr Alan Finkel AO, Chancellor, Monash University

Dr Alan Finkel is Chancellor of Monash University, and Fellow and President of the Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering (ATSE). Dr Finkel is an engineer, entrepreneur and philanthropist who in 1983 established Axon Instruments, and in 2004 co-founded COSMOS and G magazines to promote science awareness and sustainability. Dr Finkel currently serves as the CEO of Stile Education Pty Ltd and as the Chairman of the Australian Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics.

Dr Oliver Mayo, Honorary Research Fellow, CSIRO

Dr Oliver Mayo is Adjunct Professor of Biometry at the University of Adelaide and honorary research fellow of CSIRO Livestock Industries. During a career in evolutionary genetics, Dr Mayo held the position of Chief of CSIRO Animal Production from 1989 to 2001 and held two terms with the Gene Technology Technical Advisory Committee. Dr Mayo has worked on boards of private investment companies and with a number of Cooperative Research Centres. He is Honorary Treasury at the Australian Academy of Science and sits on the Academy's Council.

Dr Susan Pond AM, Adjunct Professor, University of Sydney

Dr Susan Pond AM FTSE is Chair of the Australian Initiative for Sustainable Aviation Fuels and Adjunct Professor at the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney. She has previously held executive positions in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry, most recently as Chairman and Managing Director of Johnson & Johnson Research Pty Limited and Chairman of the Australian biotechnology industry organisation, AusBiotech (2006-2008). Dr Pond is also Chair of the Australian Government's Clean Technology Innovation Committee, Vice President of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and Board Member of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and Biotron Ltd.

Professor Paul Wellings CBE, Vice Chancellor, University of Wollongong

Professor Paul Wellings has been Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong since January 2012. Prior to his current role, Professor Wellings held the position of Vice-Chancellor of Lancaster University from 2002-2011. He worked as a research ecologist at CSIRO, becoming Chief of the Entomology Division in 1995. From 1997 to 1999 he was Head of the Innovation and Science Division, Department of Industry, Science and Resources, Canberra. In 1999 he returned to the CSIRO as Deputy Chief Executive. Professor Wellings has extensive board experience including as a Director of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR). Professor Wellings was appointed Commander of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2012 Queen's Birthday Honours list for services to higher education.