Initial Teacher Education Quality Assurance Oversight Board

Strategic Work Program Summary 2024–2025

The Initial Teacher Education (ITE) Quality Assurance Oversight Board was established by Education Ministers to strengthen the oversight of Initial Teacher Education, and to ensure the quality and consistency of ITE programs.

Background

While Australia is facing teacher workforce challenges, Education Ministers are focused on strengthening ITE so that more students complete their degrees; are better prepared when they start teaching; and stay in the profession for longer.

The Teacher Education Expert Panel's (TEEP's) final report, <u>Strong Beginnings: Report of the Teacher Education Expert Panel</u>, released in July 2023, called for strengthened oversight and governance arrangements to support ITE programs in delivering more highly effective and confident graduate teachers. In response, Education Ministers agreed in December 2023 to establish the <u>ITE Quality Assurance Oversight Board</u>.

Purpose and Outcomes

The Quality Assurance Oversight Board (the Board) is an expert advisory body responsible for overseeing a systemic national approach to assessing the quality, consistency and outcomes of ITE programs in Australia, to support graduate teacher outcomes. Throughout 2024 and 2025 the Board will undertake a work program designed to deliver on the priorities of Education Ministers. The Board will then provide advice to Education Ministers on a national view of ITE quality and consistency.



2024-2025 Priority Work of the Board

Verifying and monitoring core content implementation

This will assess the extent to which the Core Content has been embedded in ITE programs by reviewing course materials and other information supplied by higher education providers.

Undertaking cross-institutional moderation of Teaching Performance Assessments (TPAs)

This will assess the consistency and alignment of TPAs nationally to ensure that all ITE students across Australia are being assessed in the same way.

Reporting on nationally consistent ITE indicators

This will deliver a set of nationally consistent transparent indicators to provide an overview of improvement in ITE outcomes across the system over time.

Supporting streamlining of reporting requirements for ITE providers

This will standardise reporting requirements for higher education providers, enabling them to demonstrate the impact of their ITE programs while minimising administrative burden.









Stakeholder Engagement





Reporting

The Board will report annually to Education Ministers on the progress of the Board's work and the findings from the priority projects.



Board Membership

Board members, including the Deputy Chair, are appointed for a period of three years with the role of Chair rotating between Australian Education Senior Officials Committee members every 12 months. As at 7 February 2025, the Board's membership comprises:



Jenny Atta PSM, Chair

Secretary, Victorian Department of Education

Bill Louden AM, Deputy Chair

Professor Louden is Emeritus Professor, University of Western Australia

Matthew Johnson

President of the Australian Special Education School Principals Association

Stephen Bell

Former regional director for Far North Queensland in the Queensland Department of Education

Chloe Read

Deputy Secretary, New South Wales Department of Education

Jane Bovill

Former Principal at Riverside Primary School, Tasmania

Adrienne Nieuwenhuis

Commissioner, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency

Jo-Anne Reid

Emeritus Professor, Charles Sturt University

Ruth Wallace

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Arts and Society, Charles Darwin University

Douglas Melrose-Rae

Associate Chief Executive, Association of Independent Schools of NSW

Elizabeth Labone

CEO, Victorian Catholic Education Authority