## **Australian Universities Accord Implementation Advisory Committee**

#### **Terms of Reference**

## **Purpose**

The Australian Universities Accord Implementation Advisory Committee (the Committee) will consist of a small group of experts and officials. Their role will be to provide expert advice and represent the views of the sector and wider community on the implementation of the Government response to the Australian Universities Accord.

The Committee will primarily provide advice to Ministers on implementation issues and changes to legislation related to the Government response to the Accord.

The Committee will provide advice on the implementation of the Government's commitments in the following priority areas by August 2024:

- Setting ambitious targets to grow the tertiary sector to meet Australia's skills needs
- Establishing an Australian Tertiary Education Commission
- Higher education pricing reform
- Managed growth funding for universities
- Needs-based funding for better equity outcomes
- Commonwealth Prac Payment

The Committee will also provide ongoing legislation and implementation advice on the Government response to the Accord Final Report.

The Committee will not be a formal decision-making body. It will provide expert advice to the Government, referred at the discretion of the Minister for Education.

The Committee will report to both the Minister for Education and the Minister for Skills and Training on tertiary reforms and targets and the Minister for Education on higher education funding and governance.

### Timeframe and commitment

The Committee will commence in May 2024 and operate initially until the end of 2024, with the option to extend as required. The Committee will formally meet at least monthly, with additional meetings as necessary in consultation with the Department of Education.

# Membership

The Committee will be chaired by the Secretary of the Department of Education, with members selected from individuals with experience in the tertiary education sector and public sector leadership.

#### Other members of the Committee are:

- Professor David Lloyd
- Professor the Hon. Verity Firth AM
- Professor Stephen Duckett AM
- Professor Julia Horne
- Professor Tom Calma AO
- Professor Barney Glover AO
- Ms Jenny Dodd
- Ms Natalie James (Ex-Officio Member)
- Mr Ben Rimmer (Ex-Officio Member)

# **Secretariat Support and Consultation Processes**

The Department of Education will provide secretariat services to support the role and general functions of the Committee. This may include providing materials to inform the Committee's advice to Government and arranging meetings, including covering travel and related expenses.

The Department of Education will also ensure information from the wider consultation processes on the Government response to the Universities Accord will be provided to the Committee as required.